2010-2011 Grant Recipients and Teacher of the Year Announced!

Portsmouth 2010-2011 Teacher of the Year
L to R: PPEF President Helen Furriel, 2010-2011 Teacher of the Year Kimberly Cunningham, PPEF Treasurer Donna Manning. View all pictures on our facebook site. Photograph by Paul Gallapher.

Portsmouth, RI (August 31): Once again at the Teachers Orientation Meeting held at Portsmouth High, the Portsmouth Public Education Foundation was proud to announce the 2010-2011 PPEF Educational Excellence Grant Recipients and their 3rd Teacher of the Year Award recipient.

Thirteen grants were awarded that totaled $8,743. The grants spread among Melville Elementary School, Portsmouth Middle School and Portsmouth High School.

Besides PPEF’s own fundraising, PPEF received community support to help fund these grants. A generous donation came from the Dr. Robert A. Davidson Charitable Fund from proceeds earned in a public concert the Dr. Robert A. Davidson Charitable Fund held this past January. A Civic Support Grant sponsored by Senator Charles Levesque and another grant by the Barton J. Carroll Foundation also helped fund this year’s grant awards. A new memorial grant, the William “Jay” Humphrey Jr. Memorial Grant, was also created in memory of former PPEF President, Jay Humphrey, who passed away this year.

Congratulations to the following PPEF Educational Excellence Grant recipients:

Kimberly Hancock (PHS): Real World Reading;
Leanne Gordon Perry (PHS): Anatomical Modeling (two grants);
Diane Roth (Melville): Center Stage + Math;
Kathleen Beebe (PHS): Enhancing Science Labs;
Sandy Oxx (PHS): Using E-Readers in the Classroom;
Rose Escobar (PHS): Tribute to My Hero;
Donna Powell, Sue Roklan, Valerie Seveney, Bryn Weymouth (Melville): Lights Camera Action – Building Reading Fluency;
Alison Ernest (PMS): Listen to This;
Richard Price (PMS): Listen and See the Music of America;
Carol Strakosh (PMS): Poetry in Performance;
Sharon Raposo (PMS): Building the Skills of Autistic Children
Kimberly Hancock, Marilyn Thompson, Michelle Beaulieu (PHS): Reading SOS, Strategies for Older Children.

Along with their Educational Excellence Grant awards, PPEF also gives an annual Teacher of the Year award. This year’s Teacher of the Year award was sponsored by NewportFed. Nominations were accepted throughout the month of May from the Portsmouth community. PPEF is proud to announce that this year’s Teacher of the Year recipient is Ms. Kimberly Cunningham, a Portsmouth High School teacher. She received a $1000.00 unrestricted grant reward from PPEF at the Teachers’ Orientation meeting.

Grant recipients from the last school year will also get to showcase their projects in the upcoming Fall Social on October 21, 2010, which will be held at Green Valley Country Club in Portsmouth. This event is open to the general public and hosts a silent auction to raise additional funds for future grants.

PPEF would also like to welcome three new board members to PPEF: Eileen LaCazette, Ellen Toner and Bruce Jones. They bring tremendous talent to our organization and we look forward to a strong future with their contributions.

PPEF is an independent non-profit organization whose mission is to improve, promote, sponsor and enhance the educational experiences for public school students. PPEF awards grants directly to the teachers for events, activities and project that enhances the public school educational experience that are not financed by the school or town budget. The foundation has awarded 131 grants totaling over $68,589.00 since 2001.

Portsmouth Public Education Foundation Portsmouth Public Education Foundation Portsmouth Public Education Foundation