Grant Recipients for the 2015-2016 School Year

On the first day of school for the 2015-2016 year, 8 grants were awarded by PPEF during teacher orientation at Portsmouth High School. The grants presented for this academic year are as follows:

● The “Barton Carroll Memorial Grant” was awarded to Michelle Murtha and Kimberly Rosander at PHS for “Bridging the Math Gap”.

● The “William “Jay” Humphrey Grant” was given to Hathaway third grade teachers Nancy Doucet, Ashley Adamson, Pamela Hamilton, and Morgan Curtis for “Build To Learn”.

● The “Dr. Robert A. Davidson” Grant was presented to Hathaway first grade teachers Sharon Raposa, Claudia Divoll, Diana Grinnell, and Laurel Oliveira for “The Fundamentals Of Reading”.

● State Senator Dr. Christopher Ottiano secured a “Senate Legislative Grant” for PPEF. These funds were awarded to Melville Kindergarten teachers Nicole Vanasse, Amy Walker, Ashley D’Ellena, and Danielle Laurie for “Encouraging Hand-On Learning and Engineering in Kindergarten” as well as Hathaway special educator Sara Hilyard for “Ready-Set-Learn!”.

● The “Lt. Colonel Edward Fitzgerald Grant” was awarded to PHS teachers Krista Hook and Rose Escobar for “Technology Meets Clay: The Art of Photo Transfer”.

● The “Karen Chiumento Grant” was given to Hathaway second grade teacher Liz King for “Using Local Landmarks to Inspire Young Writers”.

● PMS teacher Heather Baker was awarded a grant to help fund the annual “March Into Reading” program. The PPEF Board of
Directors decided to annually fund $1000 to this initiative rather than to consider it a new grant request.

● After more funds were secured PPEF was able to partially grant Melville’s first grade as well as Hathaway’s second grade with 4 Mini IPADS for each school.

Portsmouth Public Education Foundation Portsmouth Public Education Foundation Portsmouth Public Education Foundation