Grants were Presented for the 2013-2014 School Year

On the first day of the 2013-2014 school year Seven (7) PPEF grants were awarded to educators during teacher orientation at Portsmouth High School. During the orientation, Principal Robert Littlefield introduced long time substitute teacher Lt. Col. Edward Fitzgerald, (USMC retired). “Mr.Fitz” was thanked for many years of service to the Portsmouth School Department and his popularity was acknowledged by a rousing standing ovation by all the teachers.

Mr. Fitz  presented PPEF President Marilyn Brockway with a check from the Barton Carroll Memorial Foundation in the amount of $4,400   to be used towards future PPEF grants.

The grant awards given for the 2013-2014 year are as follows:

• The “Dr. Robert A Davidson Awards” were presented to Hathaway and Melville Schools teachers Laura Backman for “Creating Nonfiction Picture Books.” Michele Polselli, Nicole Vanasse, Val Seveney and Kathy Veira were presented a grant for Melville School entitled “The Pond and Beyond and Life in your Watershed”

• The “William ‘Jay’ Humphrey Award” to Portsmouth Middle School teacher Heather Baker for “March into Reading.”

• The “Barton Carroll Memorial Award” to Portsmouth Middle school teachers Rebecca Silveria, Jonna Hole, Brian Smith and Laura Smith, for “Do you hear what I hear-Enhancing Science and Math with Listening Centers”

• State Senator Dr. Christopher Ottiano secured a “Senate Legislative Grant” for PPEF and these funds were awarded to high school teacher Margaret Prior, for “Using Handheld Technology to Bring Color to the World of Math, One graph at a time”, and Elaine Amaral from Portsmouth High School for “Bridges of Newport County.”

• The “Lt. Colonel Edward Fitzgerald Award” was given to High School teachers Janet Kasparian and Amanda Noble for “Bringing Technology into the Classroom”.

Portsmouth Public Education Foundation Portsmouth Public Education Foundation Portsmouth Public Education Foundation